Total: $0.00
0 Item
  Search for
CDs, DVDs and Videos > Classical CDs
Sku.: GSP1010CD
Cry, My Guitar

[recorded September/1994]

One of Acoustic Guitar Magazine's "Essential Acoustic Albums" from their 20th Anniversary Issue

Also available via download or stream at cdbaby or your favorite site

1 Ainda me Recordo (Pixinguinha)
2 Tua Imagem (Canhoto da Paraiba)
3 Sentimentos... (B. Powell)
4 Meu Avo (R. Rabello)
5 Pedra do Leme (R. Rabello & Toquinho)
6 Malandro Descendo o Morro (J. dos Santos)
7 Camara (R. Rabello)
8 Choro Para Olga (L. Almeida)
9 Com Mais de Mil (Canhoto da Paraiba)
10 Moleque do Gantois (R. Rabello)
11 Passaredo (F. Hime)
12 Lamentos do Morro (Garoto)
13 Sete Cordas (R. Rabello & P.C. Pinheiro)

"Recorded shortly before the guitarist's untimely death in 1995. 'Cry, My Guitar' is an album of Brazilian guitar that transcends typical interpretations of the genre." - Acoustic Guitar Magazine, 20th Anniversary Issue

"This is the missing CD among Raphael Rabello's scarce discography. It's like a dream come true to see this CD accomplished - one of the best solo guitar albums I have listened to. Congratulations to Dean Kamei for giving such an important contribution to the Brazilian guitar." - Paulo Bellinati

"...a wildly-gifted guitarist who died before a wave of international recognition could unify his talents with an audience outside the cognoscenti of musicians who knew all too well that his presence was phenomenal... On this most poignant of recordings, it was to be Rabello's last, one can feel the old world blend seamlessly with the new. his style embraced flamenco and jazz with the incredible counterpoint of the myriad of Brazilian dance forms. Flamboyant is one way to describe his playing, yet it is wholly sensitive and there are no loose, throw-away ideas in what he does. This is one of those recordings strewn with gems, all of them precious. Quite simply 'Cry, My Guitar' is Brazilian guitar music at its most exciting. The intimate nature of the recording belies the exuberance of Rabello's mastery. GSP can be rest assured that their burgeoning catalogue of Brazilian music and artists is second to none and is doing wonders for the appreciation for some of the best guitar music on the planet." - Tim Panting, Classical Guitar Magazine

"Raphael Rabello's posthumous release of 13 solo finger-styled guitar pieces is nothing short of astonishing. Complex syncopated rhythms, intricate counterpoints, and cascading arpeggiated runs grace each wonderfully crafted composition. The mastery with which this late Brazilian guitarist commanded his instrument is unparalleled. However, throughout the recording the guitarist never loses focus on the inherent melody and beauty of each piece. Rabello plays much more from his heart rather than simply relying on the dexterity of his fingers. Nowhere is this better heard than on the title piece, "Cry My Guitar," which is a poignant tribute to his hero and close friend, Baden Powell. Throughout his career, Rabello considered himself a nationalist, and was quite contempt with mastering the music of his native heritage. However, with his integration of diverse musical pallets, the artist molded and redefined the parameters of Brazilian music, rather than merely reflecting the rich musical legacy of his peers and predecessors. Throughout the album one hears how effortlessly the guitarist blends Flamenco, Classical, Jazz, and Brazilian styles into his musical vision to create something truly unique and at the same time true to his heritage. Rabello plays each note with such urgency and passion that one can only imagine the contributions he could have made if he had lived. However, this recording will clearly help solidify this extraordinary musician's legacy. Raphael Rabello was not just a guitarist of his own generation, but one whose echoes will be heard for many generations to come." - James Scott, Minor 7th Webzine

"One of the truly great, and equally tragic personalities of the guitar world, both embodied in the life and work of Raphael Rabello, this final recording is a great gift to the world. A true master and innovator of the 7-string guitar...this is a documentation of a life, although in conflict, that soared to musical heights that few could ever attain. Raphael's playing comprises fire, passion, pathos and sadness, giving the title "Cry, My Guitar," an appropriateness for this final work." - John Martin, Guitart Magazine

"Brazilian guitarist Raphael Rabello transcended every expectation about how he "should" sound, given widespread preconceptions about his heritage and his instrument. By the time he died at age 33 in 1995, Rabello had made several groundbreaking recordings, including Dois Irmaos, an influential duo album with clarinetist Paulo Moura. 'Cry, My Guitar' was recorded in 1994, and its release more than a decade later unearths a lost treasure. Rabello composed only five of the CD's 13 tracks, but his signature voice - precise and confident chops augmented by flamenco rasgueados and jazz harmonies - is apparent in such familiar Brazilian fare as Baden Powell's "Sentimentos, se Voce Pergunta: Nunca Vai Saber" and Garoto's "Lamentos do Morro." Of Rabello's originals, "Sete Cordas" is representative of his virtuosity and sense of form, with clever melodic lines weaving through beautiful chords. 'Cry, My Guitar' should be mandatory listening not only for fans of nylon-string guitar and classical music, but also for anyone who appreciates brilliant instrumental soloists on any instrument, in any genre." - Teja Gerken, Acoustic Guitar Magazine

All content © Copyright GSP
-- Site developed by Nisarga Design